Defence Home Ownership Assistance Scheme

The Defence Home Ownership Assistance Scheme (DHOAS) assists current Australian Defence Force members, and eligible veterans of the Australian Defence Force to achieve home ownership, and is administered by the Department of Veterans’ Affairs.

There are 3 tiers of subsidy, which the amounts are reviewed yearly by DVA, but the tiers are broken down into years of service as follows;

  • Tier 1 – 4 Years Permanent Service / 8 Years Reserve Service
  • Tier 2 – 8 Years Permanent Service / 12 Years Reserve Service
  • Tier 3 – 12 Years Permanent Service / 16 Years Reserve Service

However, if you have provided warlike service you will be entitled to additional subsidy assistance, extending your service credit, as detailed below;

Period of Warlike Service*
Additional Service Credit
Not more than 3 months**
2 years
More than 3 but not more than 6 months
3 years
More than 6 but not more than 9 months
4 years
More than 9 months
5 years

A DHOAS administered home loan is currently available through 3 banks;

To apply for DHOAS Home Loan, you will first need to be given a subsidy certificate from the Department of Veterans’ Affairs, and you can submit the form online, or complete it manually and either send it via mail or scan and submit it via email. To apply for the Subsidy Certificate you will require to be eligible for a DHOAS Home Loan, follow the following link –

Further information and subsidy amounts are available online at